Living my dream

By Mima

Patiently waiting

This was Bean earlier in the evening as I messed about with human food in the kitchen, when she was wanting me to prepare the very important dog food.

She was in prime position to remind me of her parlous starving state, and to leap into action as soon as her dinner was (finally) ready. She’s showing off her ridge beautifully.

I have had a very quiet day. It was great to wake up with nowhere to go. And no packing or cleaning to do!

Inevitably I pottered in the garden. I pruned the redcurrant bushes and cut broken branches off the plum trees. And I fixed up some veg bed covers which R gave me as an extra thank you gift. They are in the extra, covering the broad bean bed, where germination has already started.

I wrote a long letter to one of my brothers at lunchtime. It is a joy to sit down with a pen and paper. I write slower than I type, so I have to slow down my thinking to the rhythm of the pen. I used to write to Mum once a week, every week until she died in 2015.

Since then I still write to a few people, although not with such regularity. All three of my brothers are on the receiving end. One or two Blippers too. It is an art which I aim to keep alive for as long as I am alive in my small corner of Earth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.