Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Jubilee Weekend

One of our neighbours houses.  This is a bit of a catch up Blip.  Apologies as some of this I just need fill in the gaps from the last week, which I think is just all the events emerging in different ways.

Tuesday was mayhem.  In the morning I had a dementia meeting, not knowing what time Dad was planning to be here, then even though the funeral director had said she would bring Mum's roses here for me to preserve, my sister declined, had them delivered to Dad's, got in a taxi and went on holiday leaving us to sort out the flowers!

I then got told it's ok you can come and pick me up.  It's only 10 minutes!  Err, 1 it's 30 minutes, 2 regardless of the time I still can't leave Mr T, 3 I'm not insured if I drive until next Monday.  So all that meant Mr T hadn't been fed and we were having the Age UK chap who matched us with Dave the Book coming to get some feedback to demonstrate the positives of the befriending system and lunch was in the oven and Dad and flowers all at the same time.  Dad opted not to be in the same part of the house to add to the stress!

Yesterday we had Andrew here, so that helped.  Dad did say good morning to Mr T.  In the evening he joined the meditation and very much enjoyed it, and we had a very open chat after that.  My sister was upset that Mum was in the summer house, but Dad and I went and said goodnight to her, and it was so odd as the robin appeared every time we were talking about her.  Anyway Dad has taken Mum home even though it wasn't what he wanted to do.

Our neighbour has given him a lift home and told him she will always pick him up to come down for a cup of coffee.  So kind.

So today is a quiet day and a pleasure to be back with Mr T and not trying to be in two places.  Emails to deal with as my inbox went from zero to 130, and time to look at your journals.  And time to just breathe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.