SkiMe

By SkiMe

Lunchtime Embibement

I normally never drink any alcoholic beverages for lunch unless during the weekend or on vacation... much less in the near proximity of the 3 owners of the company which gainfully employs me... haha

Well, my whisky friend and restauranteur, Ermmano twisted my rubber arm to try this rare and wonderful bottle he just opened at his restuarant, La Capannina.

Glenrothes 1989
Cask #20118
59.1%

What should I say... wonderful!

I would probably insult a Scot, but this brew had a more American nose to it... almost like a bourbon, very soft and vanilla sweetness. The taste was equally delicious - and not to be confused with it's American cousins. Ermmano was pleased I picked up on these subtelties and concords my sentiment that probably came from a first fill new cask - but not American oak which would have been sweeter, probably French or even Italian.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.