The second half of life..

By twigs

Omarama to Twizel

A chilly wake-up to a frost.  It didn't take long to warm things up though once the heater was turned on :)  I decided I would head to Kurow, see how time and weather were going then decide whether to stay there the night or keep going. 

It's such easy driving here - winter traffic ie just the locals going about their daily business, though quite a few motorhomes too so I'm obviously not the only idiot out and about in the middle of winter!  Took the slightly more scenic but slightly less sunny route to Kurow via the north bank of the Waiktaki.  Arrived in Kurow early afternoon (I'd done a bunch of fill-ups in Timaru plus a few domestics) and decided in an instant that, given the beautiful weather, the time and the dry roads I was good to head all the way to Twizel.  I say 'all the way' which makes it sound like it was hundred of kms further on.  It wasn't - just 75kms of beautiful country.  Another easy-as drive.  There are 3 images I've blipped today - one down on the Canterbury Plains, one higher up the Waitaki Valley and the main one - just out of Omarama heading to Twizel.  Three different altitudes - three different land uses and three totally different topographies, but all stunning in their own special ways.

So - now I'm here I just have to sit and wait...............let Mother Nature do her thing.  Think I will need to do some scoping out of great locations before IT hopefully arrives.  But who cares anyway? It's just wonderful to be here in this beautiful wild and wooly part of the country again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.