Grand Central Station...

Day 7...

Another leisurely morning, I'm loving that I have time to just take in the city. I tidied up the apartment before I left today as my parents arrive tomorrow. Strolled over to Fifth Avenue and went into Tiffany's to buy myself something to keep with my birthday money.

I had lunch in a little Italian place off Fifth Avenue, clearly a favourite with New Yorkers, not a tourist to be seen till I turned up! I scribbled in my journal over my sandwich and then wandered up to The Frick Collection. Lovely building. After that it was on to the Metropolitan Museum which again is a lovely building. I enjoyed some of the sculptures and particularly liked the 'At War With The Obvious' exhibition by photographer William Eggleston. However, I've come to the conclusion that I'm a bit of a philistine really, museums just don't really do anything for me. I'd much rather sit in the park and be fascinated by the really old man rocking a brand new baby, or watching lovers walking hand in hand. History is just not my thing... I like people in the here and now.

I ran out of time for the Guggenheim, I will go there purely to see the building and to MOMA for the art but I think I'll draw the line there unless we make it down to the Memorial Museum of course, I can relate to things that have happened within my memory scale. Old, old history is lost on me.

I went to meet Mecha at Grand Central to attempt some night time shots of the building outside. I took a few that I hope have turned out okay but I'm just too knackered to go through them tonight. Mañana! So I took Blipbear and Kiwi out on a jolly and thought perhaps they could show you how grand Grand Central Station is. Fabulous building that will be 100 years old this year. Apologies for the terrible quality of this shot... I have no idea what setting the camera was on but when I figure out how to work it then maybe I'll improve!

We met up with Giacomo after dinner and went up to The Campbell Apartment for a drink. It's a hidden treasure and was full of New Yoikers rather than tourists, if you go, try and blend in! A really lovely evening, a pleasure to meet Mecha and an absolute delight to spend more time with Giacomo. Not a kinder, more generous soul have I met, a real gem. Thank you so much for your company on my trip, it will be one of my fondest memories and I hope Blipbear and Kiwi will behave well on their next adventure in that hectic world of yours! (I couldn't get the geocache to work, maybe you'll have more luck!)

People always want to know when something was taken, where it was taken, and, God knows, why it was taken. It gets really ridiculous. I mean, they're right there, whatever they are.
William Eggleston


There's more here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.