Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Scottish caviar

When throwing around ideas for mum's funeral, I had what I thought was a brilliant idea, haggis canape's.

As the most famous Scottish dish is traditionally served with neeps and tatties (turnip and mashed potato), I thought potato blini's would be an appropriate vehicle.

As I have never eaten anything like this before, it was important to test it out, so...

Ta da!... here is a blini topped with sour cream and haggis!

It tastes surprisingly good as there is a lot of nutmeg in the haggis.

It may be a culinary joke that only the Scots appreciate, but I'm not going to tell anyone what it is before serving it. I'll let you know how it goes.

By the way, I don't know if it works for you, but I have a little picture bottom right which shows the official 80th birthday pic I took of mum, just a year ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.