Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

All Around My Hat (Reprise)

After dozens several a couple of requests yesterday to blip my hat, I decided to oblige. I wanted a statue to wear it, but didn't fancy climbing up on John Hume or Walter Scott to put it on them. Also - call me picky - I didn't want seagull poo inside my hat. Then I remembered the statue that is very accessible. My friend, Sandie Irvine, down in Leith - even though his head is rather too large for it.

My hat has served me well. It was a horrendous price at the time, and I could have bought a hundred beanies for the price of this one, and I swithered for ages. But it's my constant companion. My hair is gossamer thin and affords no warmth to my head and so I'm prone to colds and chills. I often wear it on sunny Edinburgh summer days day - there is usually a chilly breeze around the next corner! Actually, my swimming cap would be ideal too, especially in the rain, but then I'd look TOO silly...

I spent the morning doing a few chores before our next house guest arrives. The good thing about having visitors close together is that the housework between them is minimal. Dust has not had time to settle. Although there are those who may disagree. And one of them lives here!

The windows are still awful. With the afternoon sun on them, you can't actually see out. But I'm loathe to clean them with all this wind and rain around. As long as guests are seated in the lounge looking at the new painting (ie not at the windows) when the sun is on its evening slant, then they pass muster. Besides, I've sent for a new fandangle I spotted on a blip - apparently it cleans windows by magic and leaves them streak free and shiny with minimal effort. It arrives on Monday. Can't wait!

Our visitor tomorrow is the intrepid London blipper, Chamaeleo, whose journal and photos of the NHM and wildfowl are unmissable.

Just don't go thinking that I'll do the same when the new swimming cozzie finally gets an airing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.