Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Day of departure for Veronica and S. Veronica took me to visit the Mairie (Mayor's office) where my UK Rail photo ID card was rapidly re-purposed as a community public swimming insurance ID card. After lunch Veronica drove us all to the airport and then, following a quick spin around the “kiss and fly” airport drop-off point, I brought their car back to the house belonging to Mystère the cat. On the way back I stopped off briefly at the Carcassonne viewing point.
Some of you, perhaps Mimi more than others, will be interested to know that much of the motorway has been planted especially to deny a view from the road to the city to deter driver distraction, and therefore a belvedere and dedicated slip road has been constructed on both sides of the road to allow drivers to leave the road safely and get a proper eyeful, which is exactly what I did on my return journey.
Now that I am safely back, I can confess that I had been quietly terrified by the challenge of driving Veronica's car home from the airport.
Yes, for 13 years I used to drive a left-hand drive Fiat every single day on European roads, but they were country lanes, no roundabouts, no slip-roads, no alternatives beyond “start “A” and “finish “B”.
Since I drove away from my own home in April 2018, I have driven only once, I had a quick go in a hire car in UK in about 2020 thanks to Arachne's encouragement, but I have never in my life driven on a European motorway nor round an anti-clockwise roundabout.
And it was all fine. At no point was I scared, at no point did I miss a turn, it was all as cool as a cucumber, and the car is parked where it ought to be parked.
What began as a small exercise in looking after a petit pussy-cat may perhaps evolve into an important step into self-rediscovery. Thank you V & S! :-)

Saturday
Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.