The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Water's Edge

Wow, what a day!

Silent meditation in the morning. Went for coffee afterwards. Was asked if I'd teach English to some Afghans for a month or two, just an hour or two a week. Said yes (I used to reach English to non native speakers).

Good day at work, got lots done. Stratford Park at lunchtime.

Ran to cinema after work to meet CleanSteve, who had got tickets for Elvis, the film. Enjoyed every moment of it. Cinema surprisingly empty.

Starving when film ended, realised it was gluten free day at the chip shop, so queued for fish and chips. A woman in front of me was discussing her prolapse: a conversation I didn't need to overhear.

Got back in car, Steve asked me 'have you heard?'

'About the prolapse? Yes, but how did you know?'

'No, Rishi Sunak and Savid Javed resigned from the cabinet, about two hours ago'.

Wheeee! The rest of the evening has been somewhat surreal. The song going round in my head tonight is not by Elvis. It's 'Walls come tumbling down' by the Style Council. The fortress built on lies is crumbling, at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.