an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Denied

This picture is an example of how sometimes trying to have an interest and trying to be a parent does not mix well.

After collecting Boy we headed out for a wander of the streets on the way to the park. Boy was happy in the buggy with my hat on when I saw some mirrors outside the fun anyiques shop. Boy usually does not want to be in pictures, particularly when we are out and about so I parked him just out of shot and then crouched low on the pavement to line up the shot.

As I had it framed just right and was about to push the shutter button I heard a familiar noise. The noise was the crash of the buggy hitting the floor that happens when a child leaves the buggy and the weight of the changing bag on the back causes it to fall backwards. Boy looked at me and grinned.

As I returned to the viewfinder he wandered into the shot, in front of the mirror giggling. I asked him to move and he giggled more, so I took some of him and then asked him just to let me take one without him. He giggled some more. Then some passers by meant the buggy had to be saved from its position causing me to lose mine.

With an upright buggy I then spent ages trying to lure Boy away from grinning at himself in the mirror. This only made him decide to lean on it. Given it said £75 on the label he was instructed to move which he did, then as soon as I touched my camera he was back on it again.

Eventually we came to an agreement but I could no longer find the correct position in time for him not to return. I decided I may have got it and could probably work something out with it but I didn't and I couldn't.

At least it gave me a story for today, which is a far better one than the story of trying to get him to leave the park a bit latter on which was not so giggly and much more noisy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.