Snags

I took a morning walk in Big Rock Park today. I wanted to check on the Pileated Woodpeckers. The holes looked empty so I walked around awhile taking photos. Then I met a former colleague from Whatcom Community College. I showed him the woodpecker tree and we stood there talking for awhile. I told him I thought the birds might be nesting in the big snag with the two holes. He said, "I think so because there she is." And he was right. The female was in the top hole. She poked her head out a couple of times and then stayed out of sight. Now I really quite sure that the upper hole is their nest. In a couple of weeks their babies should hatch. I really hope I can get some photos of the babies.

This photo is one I took as I walked home through the park. There are lots of downed trees in Big Rock Park. Press "L" for a large view.

Just realized that this is my 1200th blip. My goodness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.