Flowing Rock - Almost Finished

It was a crazy amazing day today with high and low points. It began with Open Studio which was awesome. I worked on my desert painting that I showed in my April 12th blip. I am that close to being finished. Still a bit more finess to add and some final touches. But it is close. Take a look at the large version. I really enjoyed working on this today and hanging with the large group of painters that were working together. That was good!

Then the bad. Got to my car and there was a parking ticket. There is a long story about this situation. We used to park all day for free and then one of the other tenants in the building complained (our studio has been here way longer than this tenant) that we got all day parking while other customers only got two hours. It makes sense because our session lasts all day but never mind. Things changed. We now get two free hours and we have to pay for three. Well I got down to the lot and paid at about five after twelve. Apparently the attendant got there exactly at twelve so I got a ticket. I'm calling tomorrow to see if I can get it removed. I was not amused.

Then the amazing good... I picked up the mail and there was a letter from the Anacortes Art show in August. I had applied. I did that two years ago and did not get in so I was expecting a rejection. But instead I GOT IN! Two of my paintings were accepted. I am totally excited about this and delighted. I did not expect it at all.

The day continues... I photographed my painting for blip and while I was goofing on my computer I got a phone call. It was from Sandip Burman, a musician from India who we hosted at the Bellingham Festival of Music quite a few years ago. He's coming through Bellingham to play here and wondered if we'd be interesting in hosting him. You bet we are. He is a wonderful and funny guy and we are delighted to have him with us again. If you want to know more about him, here is his website.

Like I said, a funny old day. The good totally outweighed the bad today.

Here is information about the Anacortes Arts Festival. My paintings will be at the show down at the water end of Commercial Street. There is all kinds of neat stuff at this festival in booths all along the main drag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.