Rusty Sunset

All day, the skies were grey and misty and dull. Gloomy and uninspiring. I'd almost written the day off and had no expectations of much of an outdoor photo.

Amazing how disappointing that feels!

I don't mind getting out in all weathers, and I've got good waterproof gear and all that, so I'm not going to let a bit of rain stop me enjoying my time in the fresh air, but I don't think my camera would like it. In all seriousness I'm so used to having my camera with me all the time that I think I inadvertently make my plans based around it!

Some people name their camera's... Not sure what I'd name mine. I don't think inanimate objects have 'personalities' but I do know I used to have a car that was a swine if I shouted at it (her), and was an angel if I sang while I drove.

Anyway - that was a bit of a tangent!!

After I'd got home and cooked, the sky was actually looking quite interesting. Bits of blue and yellow with wispy cloud floating in front of deep thinking brutes. Oh it had to be done!

We headed up to the moor and the sun was about 20 minutes from setting. We could see sun dogs and stripes in the sky, so we headed across the golf course with the sun directly in our eyes leaving long shadows behind to follow us down. It was cold but it was just beautiful.

And no-one else was walking nearby. Just the sound of lapwings and curlews and small birds that I forget the name of, that hover above you on moorland and make shrill warnings.

At the bottom of the golf course is this structure, which serves a purpose unknown to me but please enlighten me if you know! I liked it though. It gave me a bit of foreground interest for this scene which I chose for my blip for today. I had many choices. There were runners against the sun who may have been from the Dick Hudson's Fell Race, which my blipmate Earthdreamer invented! I'll Flickr them later.

Thanks for the response to Stripeylush :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.