Silly Saturday ...

... maiden voyage of our new kayak ... if you don't count last Saturday!  And thankfully it ended better than the maiden voyage of the Titanic!

For our first time out in the new kayak (it's inflatable!) we wanted it to be on a smaller lake so we headed to Minsi Lake ... just north of us in Upper Mount Bethel.  We have been here many times and know that it's good for kayaking as no large motor boats are allowed.  In other words ... the water is nice and calm.  We had a great time once we were able to launch the kayak.  The launching was the hard part as we used a dock that has a disability bench ... this wasn't the best way to launch an inflatable kayak!  It would have been easier with a hard shell kayak ... but not an inflatable!  Next time we'll know better.

We had brought the small Panosonic water camera so I was able to get some pictures out on the lake.  And I also had my cell phone ... in a waterproof bag!  I pulled it out a couple of times in order to use the camera.  

After we were done kayaking we had our picnic lunch sitting on a bench overlooking the lake.  That where I saw the bald eagle you see in the upper middle picture.  I had my "real" camera at this point!  We also saw lots of dragonflies and damselflies.  The upper right is a Halloween pennant dragonfly ... I think a first for me.  The dragonfly in the upper left is a blue dasher ... very common in our area.  

We were home by 2:00 pm and didn't go back out.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.