Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Staying Cool

Although not as bad as in the UK and other parts of the EU, it is still unpleasantly hot and humid today which has limited the time out doors.  Not many birds around and I swear that even the insects are hot.  For example, look at this blue dasher in the classic obelisk pose that dragons assume when they are trying to reduce direct sunlight on their bodies.  Being incapable of sweating or panting this is really the only way they have to thermoregulate.  I find it fascinating how various creatures cope with heat.  Anyway, this is handheld because it was perched too low for the monopod and I took it quickly because the pavers I was crouched on were very hot.

I perused the milkweed patch and found several monarch eggs that are getting ready. to "hatch".  Just before the tiny caterpillar comes out, the tip of he egg turns black (which is actually the little cat's head).  I'll put an image in Extra if you'd like to have a peek.  Usually I'd be collecting all the eggs I could find but since we are going to be traveling next week I am holding off.  There is plenty for the them to eat in the garden since I planted a lot more swamp milkweed last year and, yes, some will get eaten or parasitized, but others will survive. And  I'll search for eggs in August.  

Jax and I had not even been on the deck for 3 minutes  this morning when he spotted a big male bear lumbering into the woods behind the house.  Full alarm mode which the bear ignored.  The two large males seem to be unconcerned by noise whereas the two yearlings run helter-skelter.  Wish it were the other way around.  I expect they're all holed up in shady parts of the woods now since it is so hot.  

I will probably take Jax out for an adventure at Home Depot later today since a walk in this heat is out of the question.  Right now he is perfectly content to nap on the sofa.  

Thanks to Osuzanna for hosting Tiny Tuesday.  And for all my friends in heat-affected areas, please be careful and try to stay cool and hydrated!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.