HarrietGeorgina

By HarrietGeorgina

Peter

This evening I took a break from revision and headed down to the Chester Sailing and Canoeing Club, at which, the first Junior Sailing Training evening was getting underway. Many years ago I was one of the young, excited, (but also secretly scared), children shivering on the shore in my wetsuit, but I then progressed to become an Assistant Dinghy Sailing Instructor and now just help out as and when I'm home. Tonight the wind was gusting, and although my initial plan was to simply take some photographs in the hope of a good blip, this quickly changed, and before I knew it I was out in a rescue boat speeding between capsized boats. Don't get me wrong, I'm certainly not complaining, as sailing is most definitely my first love before photography and it felt great to get back out on the water.

This young gentleman is Peter, one of kindest and most generous people I have been fortunate enough to encounter. When I was still learning the ropes, he took me under his wing and asked me to be the crew for his RS200. After a little practice we were soon racing every Sunday and even took to the water in Fowey and West Kirby. Now that I'm very rarely in Chester, I have been replaced by a younger and fresher model, but I don't mind at all. Infact, I like the fact that someone else is now benefitting from Peters expertise, and I'm glad the RS200 still gets a good run now and again!

Unfortunately, members of the club received some sad news last night, as another of our experienced sailors passed away from a sudden and aggressive form of cancer. Many of us learnt an awful lot from him, and nothing was ever too much trouble. He will be greatly missed both during club racing and on the Enterprise circuit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.