Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Pelargonium

I had an appointment at the Oncology Department today.  Happily my tests have again come back with an undetectable result for PSA and that triggered  the decision to take me off the hormone therapy I have been on for the last 13 months.  

I have been taking female hormones for the last year to inhibit the production of testosterone by my body.  Testosterone is known to increase the growth of prostate cancer cells so this treatment, along with the radiotherapy last September has been supressing things.  Now, 10 months after the end of the radiotherapy and with consistent negative results, the decision was made.  I will still have blood tests every three months to monitor the situation.

It's always difficult to know what side effects the treatment has had.  Certainly, some of the things I've noticed have to be down to the treatment; a hairless chest, the first time since puberty; a sensitive chest for the last 8 months, but also regular bouts of indigestion.  I'm hoping for a gradual reduction in those symptoms.  I will remain having regular checks for the rest of my life and there is no guarantee that further treatment won't be needed.

late in the afternoon we were back home and I took a few minutes to find something to blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.