THE BESTEST OF THE BESTEST FEELING

TIMING IS EVERYTHING
It happened last Saturday: April 20.
This date, the 20th, is actually an anniversary,
Of a horrific event in my life, and
The life of so many others.


I feel the 20th's approach with nightmares and memories.
Long before I'm really aware that the date, that date is near.
Someday, maybe I'll share.
Writing this much, actually, surprises me.


TIMING IS EVERYTHING
On this April 20th, those haunting thoughts were
Tornadoed out of my mind.

Just a simple email,
Informed me I was a winner.
Wait. Wait.
Not the People's Choice.
Even though many of you voted for my horse in the race.

But a winner in three.
Count 'em three categories.
Best of Show, Judges Merit and First in my category.
Unbelievable.
Do you believe it?
I mean --Can you even believe it?
Just Crazy Good.

OK, I hear you. What about the prizes?
Well, they're more like gifts.
You know the kinda cool stuff,
You wouldn't buy for yourself, but
You sure will lust after.

Shoulder bag from Think Tank : A touch of cool I need around my shoulder
Software bundle from Alien Skin : Can't wait to experiment.
Gorilla pod: I'll look at flowers with renewed interest
Gift certificates for various printing labs, and
A few more items loaded with coolness.


LET THIS EXPERIENCE ENCOURAGE YOU
To enter those awesome photos of yours in a contest.
For an extensive list of contests: check out
photographycompetitons

Here's a more local one:
British Wildlife

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.