Feathered Friends ......

..... and firsts for me!!!!

Left to right:

...... Greater Roadrunner (Geococcyx californianus) aka the Californian Earth-Cuckoo ......

........ Killdeer (Charadrius vociferus)

........ Unknown ..... maybe a swallow of some kind and the tail is VERY long ...... it's not the best of photos as he was a long, long way away but I hope someone can identify him/her for me, please.

UPDATE: Thanks to avilover and BowBelle my "unknown" bird is now identified as a Scissor-tailed Flycatcher (Tyrannus forficatus) aka the Texas Bird of Paradise ...... a new one for the blipbigyear challenge. More info HERE if you are interested. Thanks so much avilover and Belle - you are stars.

Bigger Birds ....

I was ridiculously thrilled to spot the roadrunner (but didn't see Wile E Coyote) and then the killdeer (I didn't know what that was and had to look for it online) .....

We've had a really great day today ..... the weather stayed dry but it was extremely humid - made our hotel in San Antonio by 4.30pm and, as we look out of our room window on the 6th floor, at 11.00pm, the road is now under many inches of water and the rain is still hammering down. There's sheet lightening and some wind .... fingers crossed for tomorrow and some dryness!!!!!!

41/52
42/52
43/52 for my personal birdie challange 2013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.