Ballot

Well, that's it. I've entered the ballot for next years London Marathon. The chances of getting a place are uber slim but I'm keeping my FiveFingers crossed. I'll find out in October.

Just entering this is an unbelievable milestone for me, because 10 months ago I didn't own any running shoes and I would never have contemplated running half a mile never mind 26. I'm not entering via the charity place system because, well, the amount I'd have to guarantee to raise is high and if I don't reach the target I have to pay it myself. So a ballot place it is. I'll still raise money for a charity of my choice (I have one in mind, which is linked to the sole reason why I started running in the first place) but without any of that 'hitting a target' pressure. And if I don't get a place this time round I'll try next year. And the year after. And the year after that... (repeat to fade)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.