Mo's picture story

By jettygirlx

On to the Next Sonnet ....

.... for memorising, which is Sonnet 18.

"Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?" Well actually, Bill, despite the crystal blue sky, it's bleeping freezing, so maybe a comparison with mid-March would be a better idea?

Just in case you are interested, the first sonnet is still stuck quite firmly in the memory, although I tend to mistake single words here and there. Quite reassuring, however, that I can commit it to memory for at least a short while. I am doing it purely on repetition .... not visualising or writing it out at the moment; wonder if I'll have to do that as time passes to ensure that the sonnets 'stick'? At Uni. in the early 70s and again in the mid-90s, I used repeated copying out as my main method for memorising. Interesting to experiment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.