Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Art Assignment….

Or ‘Tatiana’s feet are kiln her’

As you might recall, I belong to a quirky Art Group. The tutor is Irish and in the class of 4, we have Spanish Lady, London Guy, French Dude and me. Although the year’s course has concluded, we keep in touch and the Tutor sets us random, fun assignments which are optional but which we all love.

So she set us a project to make a piece of art (‘now class I want you to throw anything at this) which must be organic, funny, and includes a dialogue. We had a similar brief before where I did Klimt’s Kiss from rose petals. See here …,

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2976503452290517241

Anyhoo I picked a white rose, fuschia from my garden, drew a ballerina on tiny canvas - her dress is either a rose petal or fuschia - 2 options - not sure which to submit and here is the somewhat irreverent dialogue…


Location : The Petrovovich State Opera House
Lights are dim; the orchestra has assembled in the pit and the lead violinist is cranky because his gout is playing up. They are tuning

The Corps de Ballet are standing in the wings and Tatiana is smoking her tenth cigarette and she is coughing. She is talking to Yuliana (also in the corps) and they are not smiling.

Y: What will we do after the show

T: I don’t know - my feet are kiln me and I am sick to the teeth of the Nutcracker Suite

Y: Well you know the 2 bozos are in the front row again and they want to take us out

(Note the 2 poppy seed heads denote the top hats of the bozos Hooray Henryovich and Bertie Ahernski - 2 sons of aristocratic houses, work in the city and love ballet dancers although their mummys had other plans for them in the marriage (align great houses) stakes).

T: oh no -I can’t be bothered. My feet are kiln me and I can’t pretend to smile as I pirouette and pointe.

Y; You have to. We have no choice. How else can we live

T: I’m leaving this place. I saw on fb that Michael Flatley is looking for dancers over beyond in Ireland for his new show. Seriously Yuliana that Irish dancing looks easy and we might find ourselves good country boys who chop the wood and milk the cows.

Y; ok I’m with you. But let’s make this our final and best performances of our lives

T: oh yes oh yes you are right

And for today’s blip, you see Tatiana as she
Moves to stage right- smiling - as she inwardly wishes the Russian audiences adieu because tomorrow she leaves to head west.

But her feet are kiln her

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.