Sonset25

By Sonset25

Iron bird

Quiet Sunday.  Vacuumed upstairs. 

Started reading a book from the market stall,  The Two Pound Tram by William Newton.  Very different from the spy novel.  A gentle read.

It feels like the dimmer switch is on for summer.  Air feels fresher, sunshine less intense and nights drawing in.  

Discussion on camera lenses and filters.  Found several cameras too, a disc camera which belonged to my mother and my Ilford Sportsman.  Bought for me secondhand by OH for my birthday eons ago from a camera shop in Reading. It has a lovely leather case with Made in Western Germany embossed in the leather.   I cut out the written guide from the 36mm film box  and taped it inside the case to guide me on which f stop to use.  Later i did buy a light meter but found it fiddly and an extra thing to carry and found my previous method successful.  I had a lot of fun with it. 

My mother was always very precious about her point and shoot Kodak instamatic.  Pretty indestructible, unless you stamped in it or ran over it with a car and very little to go wrong.  Wonder what she'd make of the cameras I've been able to use since. ;-))

My old DSLR Pentax K1000, my next camera after the Ilford and first SLR enabled me to use magnifying filters.  That camera lens was 49mm and my current DSLR is 55mm so searching on Ebay located a step up adapter.  Now to locate all the magnifying filters apart from the +3 I found today.  A trip down memory lane.  But also hugely grateful that the cameras weren't stolen when we were burgled a few years back.
Have a pleasant evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.