Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Sketching Walk

Today was the first ever sketching walk for the Walking Festival. There were 11 participants and I tagged along to take photos. I also wanted to try a slightly longer, but very gentle walk for Arth.

It was the most brilliant day for weather and I have a touch of sunburn - a very unglamorous red nose! We walked beside Haltwhistle Burn to Cawfields Quarry and back - 4.5miles (well done Arth). There were 4 stops for sketching. It was fascinating to see how the artists approached the tasks quite differently.

Here is Julie's sketchbook with her sketch of Cawfields Quarry. I've overlaid it with one of my photographs which is blended in using layers. I quite like the effect.

Off to watch University Challenge recorded from last night and then bed. Perhaps I can go on the Singing Walk on Friday too. That's another easy walk on good terrain. (Ridiculously excited by the progress.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.