Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Break the Rules

Anyone who photographs birds in flight, including me, will tell you to use the fastest shutter speed you can, even if it means running up the ISO.  And that is good advice.  But sometimes you may want to break the rules.  I shot this and several other images of hummingbirds in flight today using a shutter speed of 1/320.  Usually that would be 1/2000.  My hands were steady today which allowed me to keep the bird's head and breast in fairly clean focus while getting an amazing amount of movement in the wings.  I like the results and it was fun to play around a bit.  One more in Extra.

This is one of two hummers in the garden today.  This one is obviously a young male - you can see his single ruby gorget feather; I believe the other one is a male also.  They are likely traveling together but spent much of the day chasing each other away from feeders and flowers.  Jax completely ignores them now, even when they whiz past him, just inches away.  

I feel completely back to normal today, as expected.  And in a few weeks I will be as protected as I can be against the newer variants of Omicron.  Yay, me.  

Jax had an excellent play day yesterday and has spent a good part of today fast asleep.  I took him for walk after lunch and he although there were squirrels everywhere, he restrained himself.  Every time he would tense up I've give him the "leave it" command with a gentle tug on his collar and then a treat when he brought his attention back to me.  Such a difference from 6 months ago.  

Tomorrow I have the dreaded pelvic scan that involves drinking 4 cups of water to ensure my bladder is full before someone presses on it with the ultrasound wand.  Nothing fun about it and I will be very glad when it's over.   I have a yoga class a couple of hours before so hopefully that will have me nice and relaxed beforehand.  

Dark with dried tart cherries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.