Place of birds

To understand this you will need to refer to my blip of April 14th about the farming family who lived in the old mansion and their high-flying son who burned out and fell like Icarus.

On my foray there I picked up from among the musty books a tiny photograph of a smiling youth, just his head and shoulders, in front of a huge boulder on which Welsh words had been chalked, along with his name. It was him, aged perhaps about 20 and looking well and happy - it must have been before the breakdown that destroyed his future. I would say that the picture dates from no later than 1970.

So, two big queries: where was it taken and what did the words mean? Initially I assumed it was a holiday snap from a seaside resort but after squinting at it while thought I could recognize the location as a local landmark on the hilltop only a couple of miles from where he lived: the rocky outcrop on top of Mynydd Dinas/Dinas Mountain, visible here. So, the weather today being stunning, I went to see if I could find the big rock. Sadly, after scrutinising the photo and comparing what I saw in front of me, I had to admit defeat but you get the picture!

As for the words, well they are difficult to make out because the original print is no bigger than a matchbox and the definition is lost when magnified or scanned; in addition I'm not that good at the language and need to consult someone who is fluent. I can see that the first three words are Mab y mynydd (son of the mountain) and the final two are adar man (place of birds). At first I thought the whole thing might be a Biblical quote or a hymn but I can't find one to fit. However, Mab y Mynydd is the name of a collection of piano music printed in Swansea in 1930 and Adar Man is the name of a traditional Welsh song, sometimes translated as Small Birds or Sweet Birds.

From what I've gathered, this young man was a studious type, more of a rote learner than a creative spirit perhaps, and it's my belief that the words he chalked on the rock comprise a verse he put together from familiar airs and there may well be some religious content too. He must have been pleased with his composition because he signed it so firmly and proudly.

Although I couldn't identify the stones in the photo I feel sure that this was the place - and it is a place of birds. There are ravens' nests on high ledges, and at the top of the crags today I found white splashes of excrement and regurgitated pellets left by a raptor, probably a peregrine falcon. As I sat and surveyed the view, from azure sky to sapphire sea, I heard the first cuckoo down below.

Here's the song Adar Man

Go LARGE for the detail.

EDIT: forget my supposition! The words are actually part of poem called Nant y mynydd (Mountain Stream) by the Welsh poet John Ceiriog Hughes (1832-87), better known by his bardic name of Ceiriog.

Mab y mynydd ydwyf innau
Oddi cartref yn gwneud cân,
Ond mae 'nghalon yn y mynydd
Efo'r grug a'r adar mân.


Literal translation:
I am a son of the mountain
Away from home making a song,
But my heart lies in the mountains
With the heather and little birds


My thanks to Chaiselongue for finding it and I'm hoping she can supply a more poetic English version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.