Journal of Jackie

By Jackie18

Second hydrotherapy session.

Haven't been able to blip for a while due to lack of internet connection. I will try and back blip when I can.
Rafi continues to improve, but with this seems to bring increased frustration and anger as he is more aware of the things he can't do.
He is getting quite good at saying 'Go way' he managed a finger gesture today which I had to remind him wasn't very pleasant (he never would have using this before)! He also lashed out at me and I asked him if he he wanted some time on his own for a while, he nodded that he did. When I returned the nurses were helping him so I waited outside the curtain. One of the nurses poked her head out and said 'He's asking for his Mum'. I went in to see him, he opened his arms wide and gave me the biggest hug which is the first spontaneous hug that he has given me since he became ill (and probably for a while before!). It was wonderful,the tears flowed.
He managed to do some good things in his hydro session and was using his arms quite a lot, squirting Claire the physio and splashing her. He also managed to stand supported by the physio Anna for a short while. I think he feels very vulnerable in the water and scared that he might go under the water, so he was quite upset at times and managed some really loud shouts! He wanted to throw a ball, but was unable to let go of it to throw it and I could see the frustration building in his face. It is amazing though that he is able to grab a ball and lift it up to try to throw it, so I'm hoping that the skill of being able to let go won't be too far away.Click here for the link to a video of his hydro session
It was a beautiful sunny day today and we didn't mind waiting in the sunshine for about half an hour for the taxi.
Home tonight to my own bed thank goodness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.