Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Against All Odds

This doe had three fawns in the spring and, against all odds, all are still alive!  The usual "brood" size for White-tailed deer is 2 so when I first saw this doe with her three little spotted fawns, I didn't have high hopes.  But here they are, still hanging out around the Lane, all together.  One of the youngsters was actually on the patio when I looked out this morning, happily munching on a pile of phlox that I'd dug up a few days ago.  I guess the greens don't have to be super fresh.  Anyway, this shows three of them (mom and two of the fawns) running across the lawn across the neighbor's lawn.  Mom is the one with her tongue out.  Kind of cute.

A fairly uneventful day.  I walked Jax this morning then did some work around the house.  Send Hammerhead on a mission to vacuum the downstairs which was carried off nearly perfectly.  And this time, Charlie ventured downstairs to watch from a closer vantage point.  Jax thought it would be fun to jump over Hammie which momentarily confused the sensors on the little robot.  All's well though and the floors are clean.

The weather the next two days is going to be yucky as we get the outer band of Ian.  Our temps will be in the 50's with winds and rain.  Nothing like the rain in FL or even the Carolinas, so I'm counting our blessings.  Good day to do indoor projects tomorrow.  

I'm thinking dark with almonds and sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.