Tilt slab

I watched this building go up a few months ago on Barbados St. It's the ubiquitous tilt slab style. I don't mind it. Maybe it's the orange ;-)

Another crappy weather day in the hills. I'm itching to get out of Christchurch but today wasn't the day for such adventures.

Instead I embarked on an adventure of a different sort; a trip to St Lukes. We're facing the end of our existence. A mix of earthquakes and all the usual human foibles. While I'm not a frequent attendee, preferring the company of mountains, it's been my place to stand.

It's an unusual church in that it doesn't judge, isn't interested in the bedrooms of the nation, doesn't worship the nuclear family and welcomes anyone. All too confronting to many and we no longer fit the model. Odd really when you think about it.

I feel a little cut adrift surrounded by ubiquitous tilt slab of one sort or another.

My afternoon was productive. I managed to tidy the front and back gardens. A quick trip to the garden centre, followed by a warm jacket against the cold wind. Before I knew it I'd planted out silver beet, rainbow chard, replaced the miniature Azalea and Rhododendron I managed to kill and planted a zillion pansies.

Pity it's dark or I could be looking out on my handiwork ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.