Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fill 'er Up

Jax and I spent some time out in the garden today, he on his bed on the deck and me with my camera at the edge of the garden.  I will try my best to describe it... the trees in the woods are in almost full color and a slight breeze is casting brightly colored leaves from the branches to drift lazily down to earth.  The faint sounds of rustling the leaves tells me that chipmunks and squirrels are foraging for nuts along the forest edge.  And the constant background of soft chip-notes alerts me to the steady stream of nuthatches, titmice and chickadees coming to grab sunflower seeds from the table I have set up in the garden.  The air feels clean and the sun has a special glow to it as it moves low across the sky.  A few moments of total zen.  And then I saw that a chipmunk was snatching seeds out of a piece of log, not 8 feet from where I was sitting, filling up his cheeks and looking utterly adorable.  Snap.  

Yoga class this morning which Charlie and Jax derailed about 45 minutes in - oh well, at least I got some good mat-time in before then.  A few errands.  Helping out a friend. Texting with my parents who are on the OR coast.  All in all, a good day.

I think I am going to indulge in something dark with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.