View Over Edinburgh

Well I was spare today as the line to Glasgow Central at Midcalder Junction is blocked for engineering work this weekend so It was a day for chilling out but as always it was time for a blip op so my choice was to pay my £4.00 to get breathless climbing up to the top of The Scott Monument so I huffed and puffed up the 287 narrow steps to the grand height of 200ft (61.1m) the monument was built from 1840-1844 at a cost of £16,1457s 11d in old money the designer of the monument was George Meikle Kemp and the sculptor for the statue of Sir Walter Scott was Sir John Steell it was constructed from Binny Sandstone from Linlithgow ( West Lothian) and has absolutely stunning all round views as you will see shortly as I put a folio page titled Edinburgh up of the 360 degree view from the very top, the view you can see is looking West looking down Edinburgh's main Princes Street with the Castle and old town to the left with Edinburgh Waverly station down in the valley which was the Old Nor Loch where all the sewage from the tenements ran into and it got so bad that they eventually drained it to build the new railway back in the 1800's as it would have been Honking with all the human effluent deposited there, Gardiloo would have been the call you would hear back then as the tenants in the flats emptied there shit out the window I sure would rather have a pigeon or seagull turd land on my head than 3lbs of human turd landing on my head as it would likely knock you out either by weight or smell haha anyway enough of that as you may well be sitting down to your dinners hopefully not beef olives lol anyway this is my blip for the day of a wide angle shot with my 10-22mm wide angle lens for this shot and I hope you take the time to view the full 360 degree tour shortly of my home city of Edinburgh which will be up shortly oh and movie for the day is "Monsturd 2003". lol At least I had my dinner early at work with a lovely Harry Ramsdens Haddock and chips with beans and I got the guys upstairs a portion of chips not out of kindness but it would save them delving in and stealing mine haha after that it was dessert so one of the guys went and got a couple of tubs of M&S nibbles and some biscuits and I bought a pack of fresh cream chocolate eclairs and two packs of fresh cream strawberry scones so it was a nice day to be in the messroom doing diddly squat with the usual abuse towards me but only after they got there free scoff and after gorging I thought we all might have to open our upper window in our block to shout Gardiloo to the passengers down below but that wouldn't be nice anyway and good day as always in the railway. GARDILOOooo lol. Please feel free to check the folio page under Edinburgh. Best Viewed LARGE. See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.