A Long Wait

I obtained this plant about 25 years ago, Iris cretensis (syn Iris unguicularis ssp cretensis.)   Cited as needing a warm, dry spot, it languished in a bed under a south wall in Norwich for almost a quarter of a century.   I think I saw a flower just three or four times!  So I'm really delighted to see one here in wales just a couple of years after moving a couple of small scraps from the straggling clump in Norfolk.  It's put on a lot of growth and looks much healthier.  Not sure how many more flowers there will be this season but it's a promising start.   The flowers are similar to the other winter flowering iris that I grow but the Cretan plants are diminutive in both flower and leaf.   The grassy leaves not much more than six inches high, the flowers less.   A little gem.

A work day, in the Talyllyn Shop at Wharf with a side order of cleaning.   I'd hoped to walk Meg after but the rain which started as I came home has not let up for long and is frequently heavy.   Later maybe.   A quiet night in at Jamie's ahead I think.  Hopefully Meg will let me sit in the comfy chair tonight .... see extra pic Jamie took last night :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.