La vida de Annie

By Annie

Vela para Diwali.

I light this large candle in a fancy glass jar, a present from #2 son, on special occasions. Diwali, also know as the festival of lights, is one of the most popular festivals of Hinduism. It symbolizes the spiritual "victory of light over darkness, good over evil, and knowledge over ignorance". I have Hindu in-laws who believe the new PM has been sent by God, but until I see him “delivering” good over evil, am reserving judgement.
Being a grammar pedant, I always believed deliver to be a transitive verb, i.e. needing on object. To deliver mail, for example. In recent times, (Tory) politicians are using it intransitively, promising to “deliver” for the people of Britain. Deliver what? Fatuous insincere promises? The word is now so prevalent that I’ve had to add it to my list of phrases for playing bullsh*t bingo when watching PMQs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.