Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Head of the Lake

Woke up very glad I wasn’t out there in 40F, rain and wind this morning for the last rowing regatta of the season.    The rain did stop after a bit but it was still cold and nasty.   The singles and doubles were cancelled .   Had lovely rowing photos yesterday so wasn’t planning on any today, could see boats from our condo but It was almost noon before we went out to walk and I thought it’d be all over …but the quads and the 4xs were still going so we walked along the lake and I couldn’t resist this coordinated scene (loosening the oarlocks) on the dock of our old Pocock Rowing Center, butts up. 

And I liked the  colors, looking across portage bay at the UW and a few 4x rowers, if you look close..(extra)

So H and I were talking about doing this regatta who knows how many years ago and I thought I’d add this old  photo for anyone interested in old boats…. It’s an unusual  Pocock made octet (8 people 16 sculling oars) which is VERY heavy to pick up (we needed help!) and is no longer here…but we saw one in Port Townsend a couple of weeks ago in the rowing club there. which brought it to mind.I wonder if that is where it went?   ( H is #8, stroke, I’m #7 and our two friends from Parker Island who I taught to row are in #5 and #2….it was so fun, especially since there was no pressure to win or go fast…it was just a demo with no competition :-) )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.