Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Frog

As I was looking for yesterday's acherontia caterpillar for some follow-up shots, I spotted this frog, hiding in the crook of a banana leaf. I only spotted it because I was closely examining every inch of the caterpillar's vine which passed close to this location. I could not find the caterpillar, so snapped the frog instead.

I found the caterpillar on my return and collected it, along with a selection of leafy stems. The caterpillar doesn't seem to be settling in its box. If it doesn't settle by tomorrow morning, I shall return it to its natural abode. I was hoping it would pupate and give me a crack at some emerging shots.

The caterpillar's defense when I was trying to collect it was very aggressive. It reared up 50% of its huge body and swung at me with some force. It made me pull back my hand pretty rapid. Still, not 100% effective, as last years caterpillar had wasp eggs laid on its back, so it was essentially doomed.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.