Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

David and Goliath

Just like in the biblical story, the big guy shouldn't mess with the ants, they can bring you down. At 4.5" length and probably 1000x the weight of an ant, the power of those formic fangs should never be under estimated. The caterpillar got away with it this time, but the ants were disturbed but clearly not intimidated.

Every day since I found this huge caterpillar 18th April 2012, I have been checking out the vine in the hope of seeing it again. Today once again nothing, but my eye was drawn by a strange looking rolled up dead leaf. As I moved in for a closer inspection, there it was. I had quite forgotten how BIG this caterpillar is and even bigger than last years.

I failed to identify the caterpillar last year, despite its enormous size. But just had a fresh attack on the search routine and Bingo, success.

Identification - acherontia lachesis, deaths head hawkmoth final instar caterpillar.

A close relative of probably the most famous moth of all, acherontia styx, made famous by Ted Levine in probably his most celebrated film roll.

Here is a Flickr slideshow of the rest of the caterpillar shots, for those of you interested.

Well, I'm feeling a tad peckish now, I fancy a nice chianti with some fava beans.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.