Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Robin

Like yesterday, the early morning was clear and crisp, so I decided to go straight to the woods rather than mess about with backups that I won't use, if I need a backup, I'll shoot it later.

I hadn't even reached the woods and my fingers and toes were frozen. I don't know what the temperature was, but I would hazard a guess at around minus fifteen. At least I had beaten the dog brigade to the blipping grounds.

Obviously I was not expecting much on the insect front, but the birds were out and singing. Funny, in Indonesia all I wanted was a macro lens, now I am feeling the need for a long lens, as these wild birds are so difficult to approach. I realize that this technique of creeping around the park is no good for the birds and I should be sitting behind a bush and waiting for the birds to come to me, but I look creepy enough as it is!

A couple of minutes before the robin, I had seen a large buzzard type bird sweep through the trees, so I cranked up the ISO to get as much speed as I could and then the robin lands right in front of me. I decided to shoot with what I had and then adjust if he gave me time. He didn't, I was only permitted one frame as he made his way back to the nest with his little offering.

The squirrels were out in force and I even managed to nail six of them in one frame, but it just didn't dazzle me and went in the bin. A couple of woodpeckers did a fly past for me, but again, difficult to get close to, stunning creatures though.

The dogs and joggers were starting to appear, so I called it a day.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.