Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Derelict

One of the many things I love about this community is that when I am in an artistic slump, there are challenges to get me reignited.  And one of my favorite challenges is the weekly "Derelict Sunday".  I live out in the country, in farmland, so there are many structures that meet the criteria.  I just have to look at things differently.  This building is only a few miles from our house and I drive by it multiple times each week.  I even stopped a few weeks ago and snapped a couple of shots with my phone but didn't like them.  This old building needed a proper camera and a proper lens.

I don't use my 28-300 lens all that often but it is really the perfect lens for this type of shot.  I only had to crop this a little and then I adjusted a few of the exposure sliders in LR.  It didn't need much, thanks to an evenly overcast day which let the colors of the building shine through.  Add a few leaves desperately clinging to the trees...and it's done.

Jax and I swung over to the farm this afternoon and picked up my friend for a nice walk in the park.  Jax was extremely well behaved and mostly interested in sniffing every bit of leaf litter along the trail.  I was able to get him to maintain a "sit" when we encountered a big golden retriever and he mostly ignored the few people we passed.  A remarkable transformation to just 10 months ago - not that he isn't still a work-in-progress, but still...

We had our first snow last night - fortunately, it turned to rain overnight and dry by morning.  Still, it was a little jolting to look outside last night and see so many flakes of snow coming down.  Winter is coming...

I think dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.