Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Red squirrel?

We've been looking out for red squirrels while we've been away and when I heard a sound high in a tree I though I might be in luck, on looking closer, although the colour is similar, I'm not convinced. I think it may be the greater two legged tree surgeon variety! :-)

Today we decided to take the train to Beauly. Like Beaulieu in Hampshire its name came from the french Beau Lieu meaning beautiful place. In this case it was apparently named by Mary Queen of Scots.
The train cost us £2.60 each using our senior rail card. We returned by bus, free for me with my bus pass and over £5 for Joyce who had to pay. Even adding on the extra third to the rail fare it was cheaper and a lot quicker than the bus!

We visited the priory which dates from around 1440, all that is left now is the nave of the church and some very old gravestones. It's a very impressive ruin and must have been a great sight when it and the other buildings were in their prime. By the church gate, extra, is what is left of Europe's oldest elm tree, it made me think of the Whomping Willow! There is also a similarly impressive and still living, enormous sycamore tree which is over 200 years old.
The evening was spent visiting friends in North Kessock. Home again tomorrow, we've had a lovely short break. Nice to spend time with wee sis!

BTW I don't know if you can make it out but the petrol here is much cheaper than at home. 155 as opposed to 167.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.