Moments in time

By Evie11

A day off..

We got up in the morning and the sun was shining. We got ready for the field, but as we were having breakfast it started pouring out, and yet the sun shone but that did not last long. We got the day off and took advantage to explore an area of Rhodes I have never been before is Monte Smith. There are some ancient ruins there with some great views (1st extra). My mom told me that she used to live in Monte Smith after the war at her grandmothers. I asked my brother about it ( photographer and family historian) and he said that the house is now the International Writers’ &Translator Centre of Rhodes. That they lived on the left side of the house, top and bottom. The house was originally Aladin Pasha’s, the last Pasha of Rhodes. I tried to look up the history of the house myself but could not find anything other than what it is now, but knowing my brother I am sure he researched it. (2nd extra).  He also said that at one time mom lived in the Old Town in the Juderia behind a synegogue. My mother never speaks much of her life growing up here unless you ask her specific questions.
We then went to the harbor and got some iconic pictures of the windmills ( 3rd extra). There was a cruise ship in the harbor, which meant some of the tourist shops in the Old Town were open ( during the summer tourist season all the shops and restaurants are open there, but close in the off season). We went back into the Old Town ( extras 4&5). 
Afterward we went to see my aunt (mom’s sister) and uncle who live in the city of Rhodes. 
Let’s see what the weather brings us tomorrow..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.