Moments in time

By Evie11

The house across the street

Last night my brother in law Michel arrived. Today we went to the next field and at we are now 5, at one point 6, when another cousin came to help for a couple of hours. We are now quite an international crew with three languages being spoken.
 There is a method and rhythm to this work. We have 6 nets, they are laid under the trees and my husband and his cousin knock down the olives. Then the the olives get gathered into the sacks removing any large twigs (leaves and other debris are separated from the olives at the mill) and the nets are then moved onto the next trees. You have to keep moving so that those knocking the olives down don’t stop. 
There is a house across from my mother in laws that belongs to a cousin of hers and she has the key. No one lives there now but she said the interior remains in the traditional village style. She offered to let me in to see. There is an iron gate in front of the house that was slightly open, but we couldn’t budge it any further, so I managed to jump over the fence. Unfortunately, although I had the key and it fit, I could not manage to open the door.
We went out with my brother in law tonight for some coffee and dessert. When we returned to the house and looking up I saw a black sky with a million stars twinkling, it was amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.