a town called E.

By Eej

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Squirrel

It's clear that all of Paw Paw loves flowering trees - my ride home was a festival of colours and smells. Unfortunately, it was also a festival of newly sprouted insect life whose only raison d'être is flying into my face. Or mouth.
Biologists will say their purpose is reproduction but I know for a fact that is wrong - given the choice they will ALL choose to smash themselves into me, or attach firmly to my skin and suck my blood.


It's mayhem in the backyard as well. My hummingbird feeders are still unvisited, but all the other birds are trying to make up for that by never leaving. Ever.
Two mourning doves reside permanently on the fence, if they are not getting lost in the unmowed area of the lawn.
Yesterday evening I found 3 Blue Jays waiting for me, yodelling for peanuts. The squirrels are getting bolder. Well, one of them is; he sat 4 feet away trying to hypnotize me. I explained that in order to get to the loot he needs to outwit The Jay; based on this stealthy move and the I'm-behind-a-sprig-of-grass-you-can't-see-me look I probably shouldn't hold my breath.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.