Golden willows

It was a very foggy morning which turned into dismal grey, but around mid-afternoon and approaching sunset, there was a brief spell of sun. Just before the sun dipped behind the hill, it caught the willow thicket at the bottom of the orchard, which glowed yellow against the darkening hillside. Soon, the bare branches of the willows will glow burned orange through the winter; I don't remember them ever looking this golden before. 

The nicest things today were reading a couple more chapters of The Handmaid's Tale with my coffee - it has very short chapters, which means I can fit one in relatively easily; eating P's very good Tuscan bean soup for lunch; and sitting mending by the fire before dinner. I like mending - it's absorbing and quietly satisfying.  I'm trying to respond positively to the not-so-nice things, and feeling reasonably motivated (today, at least).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.