Arrangement

We completed our journey and arrived in Masasi in southern Tanzania. At the guesthouse I was remembered as the lad who broke the bathroom mirror last time. Not the more accurate portrayal of the lad who was standing next to the mirror that was so shoddily erected it smashed when he breathed near to it. Today it was the toilet seat that didn’t survive human proximity.

We went to our field office and some chunky items were cleared off, which felt satisfying. Dennis was annoyed at the price of goat meat at lunchtime.

We’ve had power for about 40% of the day, as an estimate. There was some in the evening and I had my laptop on the bed. When I tried to sleep, the sheets, pillows and duvet were crackling with more static than I’ve ever seen. Moving my hands over them produced the same effect as phosphorescence shimmering on water. It was odd, and combined with the various mini shocks that always occur through the day and the total absence of building regulations, I feared I may die in the night from electrocution.

As well as the dubious electrics, I do wish to question this arrangement, greeting me in the guesthouse. The rolled up towel is standard, the fake potted rose a hallmark of this place. I am not sure what the gold coloured placemat adds to proceedings, but I’ve got to admire the originality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.