Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Really?

I was highly amused by this ad in the lidl leaflet that suggested that socks were the perfect stocking filler. I find legs better myself, but then, what do I know! Sometimes being facetious can be quite exhausting!
I had a nice day today, Kathryn phoned me and suggested a coffee, so that was what we did. After sorting lots of things out, it also resulted in a Christmas present being ordered for Eilidh and a birthday present for Kathryn. Now I just need to get each of them the other - if you see what I mean - a birthday present for Eilidh and a Christmas present for Katy! I've lots of small presents for them but there needs to be at least one or two 'proper' presents too. Why would anybody ever have a baby at Christmas, was a crazy thing to do!

I popped into the same supermarket as Hazelh and was delighted to find they had restocked the shelves with fizz since her commando raid of the other day. I had a lovely cheery conversation with some of the shelf fillers who offered to go and get me a couple of cases from through the back! I don't think they believed me when I said I didn't actually drink apart from once in a blue moon!
Visited a new financial advisor this afternoon which sounds very grand but isn't really. The people who used to look after my ISA from a wee office on the Shore, are now part of Aviva and based in Glasgow, so I decided to find somebody more local.
I also picked up the most wonderfully soft and cuddly (and pale pink) furry jacket in the charity shop today. I rather think my grand daughters will be up for some extra cuddles when I'm wearing it.

We had a few more Christmas cards today and I was shocked by one. We hadn't had a card last year so I was preparing for a phone call/visit. It was from an old school friend, who I was very close to for a number of years after we both had children together in 1982. She wrote to say that her husband had died in February 2021, which I realise was just as our age group was getting our first vaccines. They both caught covid and he didn't survive. It was during the lockdown or at least the very restricted period, so they weren't even able to be with him until his final days. I was really shocked, I had feared something was wrong but hoped it wasn't so major. I'll head over to see her in the next wee while.
On the plus side, another friend from my NCT group came to stay over on her way back from visiting her daughter. Again, we met for the first time in early 1983 and have been friends ever since. She even came out to India with me three times. She now lives in Angus so I don't see her so often so it was good to catch up. .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.