horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Flashdance

Movie Reference 30/31 (what could possibly be planned for the last one?)

Short lunchtime blander from work (another here whose office doesn't close for bank holidays) and came across either a publicity stunt for something, or the world's smalled silent disco flashmob (there were 4 of them).

She seems happy anyway.

Which I will be as well come Friday and pay day! Woo hoo! (which will also mean it's then only 2 weeks till we go to Skye and Aviemore - aaaaaaand relax...). I wish I had a job with a ready stream of expenses to tide me over. Not sure where I get one of those actually...

The whole MP's expenses thing has been done to death (quite rightly) but I only have one small observation to make. It's not about what's being claimed for, it's not the moral bypassing involved, and it's not having so much money you forgot you paid off your mortgage. It's the apologies that have come afterwards. Okay so some haven't apologised, stating that we're just jealous and the like (mainly because there are people in this country living in worse digs than some Tory ducks) but the ones that have are simply falling into that MP weasel-reasoning role so very very well.

"I think we should all apologise," started one statement promisingly, before fizzling out with a whimpering, "for letting the system carry on for as long as it did."

Eh? The 'system'? Not, I'm sorry for using your tax money for my own ends? Not, I'm sorry I unashamedly claimed money for things I knew I couldn't and shouldn't be claiming for and in so doing lined my own pocket? Not, I'm sorry I illegally defrauded the country?

No, not at all. They're all (all the ones who have been caught anyway)saying sorry about the system. There's an immense abdication of responsibility going on, as if the system was to blame, and MPs simply can't be expected to control themselves in light of it. The expenses system was a drunk young girl in a short skirt in a nightclub, and the MPs some boozed up bloke who thought that the attire in itself meant 'yes'.

Take some bloody personal responsibilty you shambles of a house of democratic ineptitude. I don't care what you claimed for, simply that you did, dishonestly, most likely illegally, and definitely immorally. Own up to those three things and the electorate might, just might, forgive you. But don't bank on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.