Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

Practising Scales

Emma's getting ready for her Grade 1 piano exam, which is the cause of much excitement. And she's on the roster to perform in the "Primary 4 Afternoon of Music", so there is much need to practice. This includes that concept so loathed by music pupils: scales. Never having studied music myself I never had to experience the pain of this odd exercise, so I don't really understand what all the fuss was about. I guess it's a stetch-exercise for dexterity. But when I was shooting, Emma certainly seemed to blast through them with a degree of aplomb.

This will be my entry to this week's WBC challenge on the theme of "scale". If you fancy joining our merry band, drop me a note in the comments and I'll get in touch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.