Intuitive marks.

I've been reading quite a bit about intuitive painting lately, watching a couple of artist demonstrate how they go about switching from 'intuition' to 'thinking' while painting.   I feel like i've been sort of doing this all along - it is this type of  process i've been so drawn to since the beginning, many, many years ago.   But now i have a sort of reference point, and it is always the place i go to when i am stuck - these smaller, less intimidating surfaces - just 'playing'.   I often loved what i did but they never seemed to translate into a 'painting' later on, and what i'm now learning and understanding, is that they are something that helps me find my own marks and voice....they exist in their own right, without the intention of becoming something else.... and help me increase my mark making vocabulary.  i also believe they just keep the imagination in a looser state :)

One of the artists i watched the other day suggested paying attention to the marks that keep repeating themselves....ask yourself what they might mean!!!   So as i kind of  struggle to get back into this part of my life and make the ritual of painting a daily practise, i will continue down this path.  She also suggested creative a kind of dictionary....i like this idea!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.