Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

For Mom

Today is Mother's Day and I talked to my mom this morning, then to my mother-in-law a little later in the day. But I also wanted to dedicate today's blip to my mom...

I got my love of nature and animals from Mom. I was certain that she could fix any injured creature that I happened to find and I am pretty sure she wasn't always totally thrilled with the things I brought home ... a litter of ground squirrels (that gave everyone in the neighborhood a rabies scare), an injured seagull (that bit me on the nose on the way home), even a sea urchin that I tried to keep in a bucket of water in my bedroom (which went horribly wrong and stunk up the entire house.) But it was mom who would carefully transport a spider outside rather than squishing it, and who taught me the sheer delight of watching the creatures around us. Thank you, Mom. As I watch and photograph birds and other creatures, I always think of you and I quietly thank you for giving me this gift.

So today's blip is for Mom. A little Chipping Sparrow, eating a dandelion seed head. A great reminder why it's not a bad thing to allow a few weeds in your garden ...and why it always pays to look at the world around you. And if you look LARGE you will see the little bit of dandelion fluff hanging out of his little beak... awwwwwww.

If you are a mom, Happy Mother's Day! If you have a mom or know a mom, be sure to tell her she's loved.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.