sp33dway

By sp33dway

Happy birthday Dad

Well, that's it. My first half marathon, and boy am I glad that's over. But boy am I glad I did it too. A fabishly quick and enjoyable first 3/4, finished off with a worryingly dizzyslow last that seemed to go on forever till I got to the top of the hill then a nice finish in front of Chester town hall. There's hopefully enough time to address my mistakes before I head on up to the blipcapital in two weeks though.

Final time was 2.23, which i was surprised with considering how much walking i was doing during the last 4 miles. If I can beat that in Edinburgh I'll be a happy man.

***
LittleA here took part in the 1mile fun run with mummy whilst I was out pounding the Tarmac. They got lost before the start but when they found it the organisers thought she was the first finisher of the mile-long lap so she was famous for a few minutes having press photographs taken as a new running prodigy until ladySp33d got a word in edgeways and told them they were running to START the run not finish it. Still, when she did eventually start she ran the whole way and even caught the pack up and actually overtook a few - to fresh cheers from the crowd :) Go Alys!

Dad later said to me that me doing this half marathon for him and littleA doing so well in the fun run was the best birthday present he could've had. Which was proper Lumpinthethroatsville Tennessee for me, let me tell you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.